Zen Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Zen.

Recent Customer Ratings for Zen

  • Satisfaction
    4.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4.5 stars
  • Speed
    3.9 stars
  • Reliability
    4.2 stars

Based on 357 customer ratings since 2020-01-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Zen   Read our Zen buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

134 Customer Reviews over 4 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I came to Zen on the advice of a colleague, and for about two years, they were brilliant. Over the past six months, the connection is dropping every two days - sometimes more often. When I ring their support line, I have to listen to their equivalent of 'have you tried switching it off and on again?'.

    Then they go through the big list of 'troubleshooting' that I need to try - most of it designed to kill time so that either the connection comes back up or else the customer gets bored and waits for the connection to come back up.

    And then when you complain, the response is 'broadband isn't a guaranteed service'. Is there any other commercial service where we'd accept this cr*p? How about I say that my payments aren't guaranteed? How quickly do you think the service would be cut off?

    Utter rubbish.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BY far the worst internet provider I have ever used. I had problems from day one and it just continued to impress me. network down every so often, slow connection and this is just few of what I have experienced. I'm extremely surprised that some customers rates them a a good provider and those kind of inaccurate reviews are very misleading. stay away and give yourself some peace of mind. I decided to post this review to make sure others are fully aware and not mislead by those good reviews.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service the last 6 months, had our account cancelled in error, various faults reducing our 80MB to 1-6MB. All caused our company serious problems and still not resolved!
    Prior to this we had been a happy Zen Business customer for years and used to recommend them to many, now I'd advise you avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Zen Fibre is a SCAM. Avoid at all cost. I have been a client of Zen for the last 3 years. I upgraded to fibre and it has been a disaster. Speed is down to 10 Mb/s. I am told by Zen technical advice staff that is a wireless problem but I am using the 2 routers provided by ZEN. total rubbish. Ofcom should take good note and sanction these dishonest companies and protect consumers. WHICH should not recommend ZEN.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Beds
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have been with Zen for 10 years+.
    Can't fault them. Excellent customer service, excellent reliability, excellent speeds.

    Also will quite happily cater for the more technical-minded customers who want to be able to adjust things like target SNR margins etc. No hassle, straight through to tech support who had it changed within minutes.

    Keep up the good work.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Todmorden
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I chose Zen as they appeared to have good reviews on local websites. However, their provision is beyond bad. We have unlimited fibre but it is pointless as the speeds are so slow it makes all but the most basic Internet browsing impossible. The one thing they have given me is a new found ability to live life without TV,or much use of the net. Our contract is up in december and we will be leaving. They have never offered an apology or tried to really 'fix' our problem, but continue to take £48 (yes you heard correct) per month off us for the privilege of zero Internet. BUYER BEWARE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Extremely Disappointing - Avoid!

    Zen are very expensive so I wrongly assumed we would get a much better service than we did from Sky. Zen’s service speeds are even slower.

    Since the very beginning we have had problems with Zen Internet.

    We are getting nowhere near the Typical download speed they advertised. They still won’t let us change providers without huge early termination charges despite speeds that are much slower than promised.

    Save yourself loads of hassle and avoid Zen Internet!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ash
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I was thrilled with Zen to begin with! We are in a very rural position & always had trouble with poor service from all our suppliers(no high speed or fibre in this vacinity)!
    At first we could guarantee our connection but at Christmas we had breaks in high usage times & thats continued. Not as bad as the other suppliers but wet evenings, bank holiday evenings. Saturday nights & this morning around 8 until now 8.45. No WiFi.it is the most expensive I have had in 15 years no phone with it £35 A month & I was willing to pay while it worked.. but what now??
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Overton, Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We started with Zen Broadband 2 years ago and it was absolutely fantastic. All problems sorted even before we were aware of them. We were advised to use our own router and we were provided with all the necessary settings. Everything was perfect. Until we moved homes. On the move we decided to go with Zen's Unlimited Fibre. 1st we were bombarded with emails with overdue payments. It looks like they quite often forget what Direct Debit is for. Then there was their modem/router - absolute rubbish (and you have to pay for it). And the time you have to wait for a support to pick up your phone increased to something between 15 and 30 minutes! And they advised to keep resetting the router settings to the defaults and wait and it will sort it itself. Sometimes it did, sometimes it didn't. And approx 2 months ago stopped working altogether. I can't v
    even be bothered to call them again. So I cancelled. Now I have another set of emails with overdue payments. And you have to enter the card details twice for your inconvenience. Again - do they have a clue what a DD is for? Avoid - you can get much cheaper deals with much better router bundled and much better customer support from e.g. sky (at least at the time of writing it)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barnsley
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have been with Zen for well over 10 years now and have never had a problem, their service is faultless.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Woking
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Ben with Zen for years and I will never leave them as long as they carry on as they are. Great and personal service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Comments
    Rubbish services from day one. stay away from them and save yourself the hassle.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was with Zen internet for a couple of years after hearing they were really good (and reading many good reviews. Unfortunately their so called great customer service was a real let down. A few years ago some work was badly done where the phone/internet lines come into the house and we started having problems with the internet. No matter how many times I called and explained this to Zen they refused to contact BT to send an engineer. So I changed to Virgin. We also had similar problems so I call then and they sent an engineer and a network team to the street two days later. It got fixed! I highly recommend Virgin, they actually give a damn about their customers. P.S: I pay a lot less now with Virgin too and my wifi now is constantly at 80+mbps
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Knaresborough
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I switched my small business broadband & phone services to Zen IT about 3 months ago. The customer service has been top notch! It is so refreshing to speak to customer service agents who (1) speak in a clear, understandable manner and (2) listen to what you say before riddling off a script. My broadband service dropped this weekend and the service & response time were brilliant. I understand services have issues once in while - the thing that makes the difference is the manner in which a company fixes those issues. Zen IT handled my call with speed, clarity, efficiency and friendliness. The entire service call was stress free. I would recommend Zen IT to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North London N1
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Comments
    Zen is a complete disaster disaster. We have been clients for years and have 2 accounts. We are cancelling one and we are trying to get our Fibre contract cancelled by CISAS and the Ombudsman Service for Communications. Our speed after our upgrade to FIBRE is MUCH WORSE than before and averages 15 mb/s. It is totally unacceptable and ZEN should be fined and reimburse our money. I see many other complaints about Zen in here. Zen is saying is a problem with our equipment and we are using their own routers. We have tried 2 different routers sent by Zen. The problem persist.... DO NOT USE ZEN FIBRE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We've had Zen for about 4 years now but recently the quality has really dropped. When you enquire about why the service has become so intermittent they talk to you like you're someone who doesn't know what internet is. We recently had a stretch of 24+ hours without any connection at all and all they could tell us was that there was a problem at the exchange and someone would be sent to fix it soon. They said WE could call THEM for updates! It was a whole working day without any connectivity but they didn't seem to feel the need to apologise or do anything other than insist that they don't guarantee continuous service. It was such a corporate line, so lame and transparent. We asked for a gesture deduction from our next bill towards the data costs we'd incurred having to tether computers to mobiles to get online and they just repeated the same thing. Their customer service reps had no idea that consumer law allows claims for compensation and that their own contract can't exclude consumer law. Very very poor. Most of all it was a horrible experience being spoken down to by people who were providing a rubbish service and not sorry about it. Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    You don’t get what you pay for.l with Zen I don’t believe.

    The old adage that you get what you pay for is just not true any more in my experience.

    Zen used to offer superior customer service. And I can’t even figure out if that is true, or had ever been true.

    Is it case that Zen started out when everyone else was terrible and they appeared good relative to the rubbish competition at the time?

    Whichever it is, they are now so far behind the competition.

    I have had excellent experiences with some of the big providers who provide decent routers, fantastic customer service and want to keep your business through good pricing and a professional customer service.

    Call Zen today and you are met with arrogant technical support. And you are always met with Zen’s favourite one-liner “have you got another router”.

    After 13+ years with them it’s time for me to leave.

    If I were to meet anyone considering Zen I’d tell them to save a shed load of money. Cancel your BT line and move to one of the big providers that have fantastic offers that include line rental.

    Pound for pound the service of other providers is way above Zen and their supposed superior customer service.

    It just isn’t true any more from what have experienced and it’s taken me several years of giving them he benefit of the doubt to final realise it’s them, not me!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southend-on-Sea
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved address in July, asked to move over fibre optics service. Advisor told me they would need to check if fibre is available after £70 line rental instalation. Begrudgingly agreed, wasn’t aware that once they installed the line and realised they couldn’t run fibre optics, would only offer ADSL which i never wanted. Went with Zen for fibre. Could have gone with Virgin Media who previously cancelled my early termination charges as they was unable to contunue provinding fibre optics service. Zen charge me a total of £250 to cancel early, was totally not negotiable and failed to meet any deadlines of call back and a lot of the time not call back at all. When i finally got through i was repeatedly told “we have systems in place which mean we can’t do anything about the charges”. I’m rating 1 star as paid for a service i was no longer using. Therefore, meets minimum score in all areas.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    After using other ISPs I have now been with Zen for a few years and have no intention of switching. I have always found them reliable, easy to contact, helpful and with very professional customer support. They are now very competitively priced.

    Just as an example, I wanted to introduce a wireless mesh network into my old rambling house. The Fritz!box routers supplied by Zen are already mesh enabled and they offer an "EveryRoom" mesh service for a small extra cost each month with a 2-year contract period. This includes supply of a Fritz! Repeater 3000. At the same time I decided to upgrade to their newer and more capable Fritz!Box 7530 router at a much discounted price. This then allowed me to use the old Fritz!Box 3490 as a further mesh repeater.

    Notwithstanding the Cov19 lockdown, I received both new items the next morning and very quickly had the new mesh network up and running using the Fritz! WLAN App. I have a FTTC landline, and with the new Fritz!Box router and repeaters have a consistent 15% increase in download speed with greatly extended range including a garden studio 25 metres from the house and in a garage 40 metres from the nearest repeater. Nor have I experienced any service interruptions over the month since installation.

    I rate Zen as excellent and by far the best service provider I have used. The new Fritz!Box mesh network is a doddle to set up, very capable and delivers top-notch performance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Altrincham
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Don't understand all the negative reviews. Would really like to know (from Zen)why some people have had such a bad experience. I accept thay are not cheap (you get what you pay for)and there are no introductory special offers, but after my previous supplier (firenet)suddenly abandoned all their customers without notice, Zen was like a breath of fresh air. I am using my own router and most of the time am using a wired connection to my pc so don't know if that is one reason I have had no problems. Their customer service is second to none, spending a long time on the phone to help me set up/ solve problems. They even identified an incorrect setting on my own router that had been causing a previously unresolved problem with my previous provider (who even had an engineer out who failed to find the issue. Maybe I have been lucky but am very happy with Zen and prepared to accept the relatively high price for the service and support received.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not massively pleased with customer care from zen. Been without internet at home for a month, so was excited about my activation date for zen was last Tuesday. Been ringing them everyday since then, been told I’d be called back a few times for updates and only been phoned back once.

    They offered to top up my data so I’m not cut off last week, this week different story and won’t be offering to top up my data as the top up was for me to use for emergencies and will only do £20 a month for customers.

    I lost my job 2 weeks ago due to corona virus and am unable to work from home (I have been offered work but unable to accept due to having no internet at home) I have online gaming subscriptions and streaming services which I am now paying for and unable to use.

    Why do zen not offer dongles or to make sure customers have adequate data to last. Would have been good for zen to offer to pay for a unlimited data top up for the month last week (it’s only £5 on top of the most they said they could stretch to) they have literally no idea when I will be activated as it is with openreach to fix, but they refused. Not a happy customer at the minute, if I had been granted the unlimited top up for my phone I would not be ranting now.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have been waiting over 3 weeks to get my Broadband installed and have been messed around by the team at Zen. They tell me BT was the hold up and then someone else in the building gets it installed in 1 week. Then Zen say they can do it re book another appointment and guess what they still can't do it and blame it another problem. Have to say the worse comms company I have work with. If you thought BT were bad, just check these guys out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Co Durham
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with ZEN a number of years now. I cannot fault them for their service or speed. Before I was with them I was frustrated at broadband dropping out etc etc. Zen customer service are great nothing is too much trouble for them.If I have a problem then it is sorted out quickly staff are friendly and knowledgeable.
    Its not the cheapest but I need the reliability of the net for our business.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Having just had an email problem sorted I feel that I must commend this company for offering good value and a properly functional service. I have just had a problem with my email solved, although problems rarely occur. The helplines are always manned and if they are busy you get a callback very quickly. Their employees are helpful, knowledgeable, patient and they speak good English which you can understand. Having tried several other broadband providers, I am fairly certain that I shall stay with this one - you do get what you pay for and the ethos seems to be that of giving good service. (And I am pleased to say that no-one to date has asked me how I am or told me to have a nice day!)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stirlingshire
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had very high hopes for this service based on good reviews, including ' Which'. I ignored my reservations on the high cost plus the expensive router which I was assured would provide better speeds. The service worked okay for 4-6 weeks. Since then I've had consistently slow speeds of 3, 5 and 7 - yes really. The slow speeds usually happen after 8 pm and weekends when the call centre is closed. Even on a 'good'day the speed is mediocre at best. The high monthly cost cannot justify the poor service. Unfortunately I can't cancel my contract without penalty until April 2018. Would not recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined Zen about a year a half ago, initially, there were no problems. Download speed a steady 10-12Mbps and Upload always at 1Mbps until last July. Then our speeds dropped below 1Mbps (Averaging about 0.48Mbps), for three months I was going back and forth with Zen.

    The only thing I can say is that Zen customer service did keep in regular contact with me (with one major blip when they closed the fault tracker whilst I was abroad for 3 weeks even though my housemate was speaking with them most days!).

    Zen was convinced the issue lay with BT so we arranged 7 BT engineers to come out to the house with no improvement or increase in speeds.

    After 3 months of this, I finally decided to bite the bullet and move to another provider, lo and behold day 1 on the new provider (Download - 11Mbps, Upload 1Mbps).

    I still don't know what the issue was but as both Zen and my new provider run on the BT Wholesale network and all I needed to do to change was to update the username and password on the router, I do think Zen were at fault.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pevensey
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I moved to Zen from Talk Talk two weeks ago & am very satisfied. I moved with an existing fault which Talk Talk had failed to fix & Zen immediately got it sorted (it was a line fault & Talk Talk do everything possible to avoid involving Openreach, whereas Zen had Openreach onto it immediately). Zen's customer service is very impressive with technical problems being dealt with by people who listen & make an informed judgement on how to proceed. Migration was simple - just switched the new router on & within a couple of minutes I was up & running. Nothing bad to say about Zen at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Zen for 9 months now, it has been a solid , reliable connection (fibre 2) running at speeds that are quicker than my former BT broadband.
    I have used the customer services twice and both time they have come up trumps(faulty cable and a router reset that went wrong), its good to get a uk call centre that answers the phone quickly!
    The changeover from BT went supersmooth. These are not the cheapest ISP I have had but to date they have been the best..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Mortlake
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My BT Broadband and Landline contract was due to end 22/2/19 and having done some online research I felt that it might be time to try a new provider. Having looked at a number of different reviews, Zen seemed to be an attractive option with excellent reviews for speed, service, support etc

    The timeline is as follows:-

    10/2/19 Contacted BT to confirm end of policy for 22/2/19

    10/1/19 Contacted Zen to order Broadband / Landline package with a planned activation date of 22/2/19 (correct date)

    11/1/19 Received email from Zen confirming activation date of 25/1/19!!! Contacted Zen to change date to agreed 22/2/19. Was informed that they would check recorded phone conversation to clarify

    21/1/19 Received Zen Hub from DPD group

    8/2/19 Received email conforming activation date of 22/219 (correct date)

    8/2/19 Received email containing username and password for hub

    8/2/19 Received letter from BT confirming 22/2/19 as leave/transfer date

    19/2 11:24 Received email from Joel explaining that landline transfer rejected
    19/2 12:15 Received email confirming landline transfer
    19/2 13:30 Received email that activation will occur 5/3/19!!!

    Having given Zen 6 weeks to organise a simple transfer of landline and broadband they have failed.

    Following the last email I spoke with a representative who explained that there was an issue with this case. I took my dog for a walk, pondered the situation and decided that the service and support so far had raised a number of alarm bells and I rang back to discuss the case with the same person. After ringing your number and going through the options (of leaving Zen etc) I then was then kept waiting for 30 mins before I could get through (see enclosed picture)

    I did read a reply to one of your complaints that you offer a call back facility, unfortunately this is not true and while i was holding on for 30 mins this was never offered…..only a 'please hold all our team are busy’.

    It takes years to build a good reputation and they have ruined theirs in less than 6 weeks.

    Avoid
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Absolute top-notch services provided by Zen.

    I live in an area where it can only be serviced by a small number of providers, and being on BT takes some years off my life.

    Decided to take the plunge based on some reviews and have not regretted ever since.

    Admittedly the price is slightly more pricey than BT, but the quality of the service, both in terms of the internet and also customer, has been fantastic.

    Renewing contracts take literally minutes and everything is clearly documented and good to go.

    Really happy with the service and could not rate it anymore highly.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Expensive, slow speeds, poor customer service, very dated web interface.

    Was told Fibre wasn't available when moving house and they put me onto a broadband contract for 1 year. After checking sometime after Fibre is available but through other providers.

    Rather than roll my contract over when moving house they started new contract locking me into it.

    My new Broadband connection was under 2mb download most evenings. I was promised 20mb. Worked with tech support for almost a month and did not find a solution.Gave up.

    The web portal for managing your services and account is extremely dated.

    Rude customer service on phone. On one occasion the lady ended up saying "I cant help you mate".

    They advertise themselves as putting customers first but clearly this isnt the case anymore. Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Went to Zen after another well-known supplier kept raising their prices. We joined something called 'The Big Switch' (which has transitioned into 'Look After My Bills'). As part of that they put out a collective bargaining and offered a great deal with Zen. Had never heard of them at the time, so asked my friends on Facebook and got positive feedback. Not long into the contract the speed dropped and it's been terrible ever since - I often hotspot my phone and use 4G as it's better!
    The router looks like something out of the 90s, and although located in the front room reaches the loft room ok, although the back bedrooms can be intermittent.
    I filled out a survey about the poor speed and Zen proactively contacted me, to their credit. Since then, however, I just get passed from person to person. If don't respond to their emails within a day I get hounded by the technical staff, yet they take best part of a week to respond to mine. They claim to phone and leave messages, yet this has only happened once - today the same, yet my phone has been beside me and not rung all day! To rectify the 'fault' (which one person tells me is external to my property, another tells me it's on my property) I have to agree to 'potential charges' when I've been paying for over a year for substandard broadband. My advice? Avoid these and go with a larger reputable company that has the 'Oomph' to get things done when they need doing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    mid west wales
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    For myself its always the customer service that counts, lets face it all of the ISP's apart from Virgin use BT lines.

    I have found out via a Subject Access Request that the staff have been lying to myself about not already having the account details on the screen in front of them, as they have been making entries on my account notes despite claiming that they have no access to the account until I answer the questions - which by-the-way do not provide security which I think according to the GDPR and the ICO they are supposed to do. The questions that are asked are mainly common knowledge questions, questions whose answers are in the public domain - I am sure that my landlord and his son know where I live, what my name is, and have a telephone.

    I would say that if one can write entries on the account notes and the account notes are part of the account, then access to the account is enabled.

    Also, if they do not know who they are speaking with over the telephone, its amazing how they are able to pin-point the correct account to write the entries on - every-time.

    I also noticed that the notes were inaccurate, and appeared to be written with the intent of keeping the call centre staff's job at the expense of the customers reputation ie he did this, he did that, but I was great - this type of thing.

    Last week I had five of their representatives/agents slam the telephone down on myself, while I was telling them why I was calling. Five calls on the trot. Which is when I sent an email.

    I have given them sometime to answer my email to them, I have not heard a even a peep, so now I have come here to report it - so to speak.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Since moving to Zen my line speed has doubled to 18mbs after a poor intermittent service by a much more well hyped provider. Also, the line has been solid for 3 months now and Fitzi router is impressive for speed and versatillity and ease of use. I was with Zen after they first started in 1997 and had to leave due to house move but delighted to be back with an excellent company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southend on Sea
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What a waste of time this provider has proven to be.
    Alright they phone back when you report a problem but at the end of the day I still have an unreliable connection- Avoid at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    oldham
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    over the years i have had all sorts of different broadband packages, Zen is by far the best, the customer service is second to none and the speeds are exactly what they told me they would be, personally i am very happy with the full service that i am getting from Zen.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Eastleigh
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have tried zen now for 6 months and the service is really bad constant line dropping noisy phone line and speeds as low as 1.5mb on a promise of a min of 5.5 to 10. spent days playing there games. they contacted me to day I could have broadband for £50 set up more than anyone else they actually took £55 and immidiatly the broadband dropped out constantly so i cancelled within 12 days. now trying to get a streight bill out of them to leave.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I came to Zen on the basis of other reviews and they have not let me down. The only problem I've had was with the faceplate on the master socket and this was dealt with efficiently. Despite COVID 19 delay warnings my call was answered within seconds. I have been with Zen for over a year and I would highly recommend them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    HIGH PEAK
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Zen 12 years as they always amswer the phone and help me with any issues unlike the other companies who usually make you sit for hours on an answering machine, Cannot rate highly enough !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    Zen
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have been with Zen for many years and they used to be very good. For the last 12 months the service has been useless and almost unusable.
    Speed test today: 1.23 Mbps download, and 0.36 Mbps upload.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.