SSE Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Recent Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.6 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 423 customer ratings since 2020-01-21 (Show all time ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

418 Customer Reviews over 11 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Almondsbury
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Excellent customer service: Called the faults tea
    And an advisor answered within 2 minutes. The lady established Remotely that the fault was external and arranged with openreach to have the fault fixed within 48 hours. In fact the connection was up and running within 6 hours. Thank You SSE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Confused to read all these bad reviews only problem I had was the router not being delivered on time other than that the internet has been perfect not slow at all...can watch netflix amazon prime etc. with ease and not that expensive per month
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Most trouble free broadband switch ever.Router arrived 2 weeks before date.Previous provider switched off on the dot.Plugged new SSE router in first thing in morning,and away it went.credit where it's due.thankyou.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Just perfect! Promised frustration free broadband, got frustration free broadband. They send an engineer from Openreach to my house to fix the line on my first day of contract, before I even mentioned to them that it's not working - something TalkTalk has not been able to do despite WEEKS of constant complaining! Honestly, save yourself the pain of a slightly cheaper provider without any service, totally not worth it. Choose SSE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Anglesey
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Took out an 18 month fibre (39Mb/s) contract with SSE back in Nov 2016 after the local ADSL service went to rats. At £21 a month it seemed like worth the risk despite dodgy reviews at the time. The next cheapest fibre we could get was about £40.

    The kit and the service arrived on time as promised and, for the past nearly 2 years, it's just worked.

    Speeds have been consistently around 35 - 37Mb/s from the start, more than enough for our typical use of a bit of streaming to tablets and laptops + general internet browsing. We usually have 1 or 2 laptops, 3 tablets and 2 or 3 smartphones going at a time and it manages to keep them nicely fed.

    The wifi from the supplied modem / router has been a little weak for our 300 year old THICK stone walled house and did get a few drop-outs upstairs but picked up a cheap £25 Tendra AC6 router to use as an additional AP and that cured that!

    Recently I realised that we'd gone past the end of our contract and reverted to their "standard" pricing of £42 per month since May. Really the only gripe I can think of is that they didn't give any sort of reminder or move us to their new monthly pricing automatically.

    Still, phoned them up yesterday to see what they could do and got a very helpful and pleasant assistant who ran through the options without any up-selling or pressure and we settled on changing to line rental (no calls cos we don't use them) plus 76Mb/s broadband at £30/month less a £4 discount for having our electricity with them as well.

    That's the only time we've needed to use their customer services and it was exactly how customer service should be!

    So that's £26 for full speed FTTC with no headaches or hassles, on a 1 month rolling contract and price guaranteed for 3 years.

    Happy bunny and more than happy to recommend SSE based on our experience over the past couple of years!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Melton Mowbray
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    TOP CLASS service just became a customer today everything went as according to plan and the fibre speeds exceed Virgin Media in this area !!!, keep the good work up folks.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Peacehaven, East Sussex.
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I switched our home broadband and telephone service around a month ago, having checked this website out seeking guidance in finding a new broadband provider.
    Maybe it's the luck of the draw or perhaps it depends upon where you live - I don't know, but I was in the first instance extremely concerned to read so many adverse reviews concerning SSE broadband on this website, particulary because I was interested in changing to their service because their charges are so reasonable.

    However upon delving further into the matter I noticed that BT, our previous internet provider, who to be fair had provided us with a perfectly satisfactory iinternet service for the past eleven years had also received great numbers of bad reviews, so much so that I came away of the opinion that most reviews appeared to had been written by internet users who were harbouring all kinds of varying gripes against their broadband providers, and it seemed that subscribers who had actually received a satisfactory service had become complacent and did not trouble to submit any reviews anywhere which is a great shame as it does not allow readers to gain the benefit of their experiences and consequently miss out on any positive & constructive comments that might had been made regarding the numerous broadband service providers.

    We wished to leave BT as they had become so expensive,and their price increases were becoming far too frequent for my liking .. .. .. .. However, as they say 'Nothing ventured - Nothing gained!!' so bearing all of what I've said in mind, I signed up with SSE purely on price considerations for their 'Up to 17mb Standard Broadband.'
    I deliberately left a period of one month prior to submitting my review in order to permit my new broadband service to settle down, and to also allow a period of time for me to assess its capabilities prior to my submitting a review regarding SSE's service over a short period of time - be it good or bad.

    Speaking as normal domestic users, (ie; surfing, emails, blogging, viewing webcams etc.) my wife and myself (the only users at home) are so far extremely pleased with SSE's service together with their most reasonable prices too. We are paying just £21.50 monthly (on an eighteen month contract} for broadband which also includes line rental as well as free 'anytime phone calls' also which is far less than what we were paying BT before we switched, in fact it's turned out to be well over 50% cheaper.

    Our SSE telephone and broadband connection was made correctly on the changeover day of which we were advised of well beforehand (9th May 2017,) and the service since then has been most satisfactory, and the supplied router's wi-fi signal reaches all of the rooms in our two bedroom bungalow satisfactorily,which I found was quite simple to set up, and it works well.
    We've had no problems at all with our SSE broadband at all, and the service is well suited to our needs - in fact we are pleased that we took many of the adverse reviews written here with a pinch of salt, and I'm able to say that we are absolutely delighted with SSE's service.

    Thank you SSE for a good service at a reasonable price.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    kirkby in ashfield
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    i thought a review was justified to combat some negative reviews,many of which are simply down to online knowledge. Ive had the ultrafast fibre for over a year now (£21pm inc line rental) and its awesome ! now,lets talk a bit of 'tech' in laymans terms :) 1st,the router is poor,they even acknowledge this but it is free with free delivery. It works fine but the range is poor. Here you have 2 options,buy a router of your own or get a wifi booster ! Many have commented about throttling; this is done by many isp's at peak times,usually throttling streaming or certain types of downloads (torrents etc) , by getting yourself a vpn (virtual private network) you're much less likely to get throttling because the vpn makes the type of data you're using 'invisible' to the isp by encrypting it (a good vpn like cyberghost is only £30 a year for 5 devices). Do the above with your sse connection and you'll b hating when the contract ends because you wont get better value :)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northumberland
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Well pleased with SSE service, has been totally reliable and when I had difficulties at the start of my contract their support staff were excellent. Speed is not quite up to advertised maximum but is good and above all,consistant.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Great service and speed.Very satisfied.Broadband speed better that Virgin and half price.Recommended!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    SE Leicestershire
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Typically
    75Mb/s up
    15Mb/s down
    No problem for over a year.
    (Sold router for £50 as soon as it arrived)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chester
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have been with sse for 12 months now, as part of an 18 month contract. No problems at all. fast speeds unlimited phone calls and line rental included for £21.50 I do not want this contract to end
  • Reviewer
    Location
    plymouth
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have had sse fibre broadband for 2 years and regularly get speeds of 37 mbs and have never had to contact them with a problem. Top notch product.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been a customer of SSE 76mb for just over a year now, and am well satisfied. speeds are as stated.
    Price is under half of that i was paying with Virgin 20mb.
    Transition was smooth and have never had to call them.

    One question tho, to those satisfied and have reached the 18 months, what is the deal/procedure at the end of the 18month term, if any?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Ive been with SSE fibre 76 for a year now and its my 5th provider at this address and the best constant speed no problems apart there is traffic management .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Being technically "challenged" I really wasn't looking forward to trying to set this up , and expected I would have to get somebody to do it for me . The pack arrived well in advance of the switch over date (13th) I read all of the instructions ,and looked at the diagrams . British Telecom cut us off pretty promptly , and the SSE service was there immediately , phone working fine , when I plugged in the broadband connections they all worked fine too , amazingly !! Put the new codes into laptops , kindle etc and we were all set up by 10.00 am , fantastic service .The speed seems faster than we originally had and its £30.00 a month cheaper than our original provider .It's only day 2 but so far it's still working perfectly . Would just like to say that if I can do it anybody can , as I'm useless with anything technical .We were kept informed of the change over date by SSE , and the pack was self explanatory , very easy to set up the change over and the equipment .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    south staffs
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    The customer service team were all lovely and tried very hard to sort out initial problems when we swapped to them
    They were patient ,kind and always rang back at promised time .very pleased ,super company!thankyou Sse
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Pontypridd
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    Comments
    Just signed up for basic internet and phone. Customer services have been really helpful. Yazmin very patient while i set up router and solved issue with mobile phone connection quickly. Havent used a lot yet and just surf. Dont download much or stream. I will review speeds in a few days. So far so good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carlisle
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I switched to SSE primarily for the excellent deal and fast speeds. Initially was good but then intermittent. SSE were excellent - problem ended up being an open reach issue but all in all had 4 engineers out. SSE regularly updated me and if the person dealing with my case was on days off she handed it to a colleague. In a previous property I have had broadband through plusnet ( who made me cry) and sky and there is no doubt that the customer service at SSE is second to non. I now have an excellent phone and broadband connection and have nothing but praise for SSE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Winchester
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I migrated to SSE/Daisy about a month ago and so far I have been very pleased.

    The steps from sign-up to connection were clear, easy and communicated well. In fact I was surprised how easy connection and setup was and I successfully attached all my devices in very short order.

    I have found the router to be fine and even to have more range and stability than my previous BT Home Hub.

    As for speeds, these have increased and my connection is much more stable than I had with BT, despite the cable infrastructure being unchanged. I livein a rural area and so do not have fibre.

    Previously, I achieved speeds around 13.3 Mbps/0.87 Mbps. Since migrating I have a stable connection of around 14.7 Mbps/1.07 Mbps. That's a significant increase just for changing providers.

    Additionally, the connection is much more stable. With BT internet connectivity would freeze for some seconds several times a day every day. This has now gone.

    All this for less than half of the cost BT were proposing with their latest price increase. I am also not locked-in to a long term contract 9only a rolling month).

    So, all-in-all I am very happy. I cannot comment on customer service as I have had no occasion to use it. But, I have found in general that this is usually not good from ISPs anyway.

    Overall, I think the standard of broadband service still seems a little hit-and-miss in the UK, depending on where you live and other factors.

    I seem fortunate to have selected an ISP that is working for me.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bicester
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Moved from Sky to SSE, what a great decision and great deal.
    Everything happened as planned and at the arranged times, I have absolutely no reservations in recommending this service and thank SSE for a hassle free changeover and look forward to being a customer for many years to come
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Blairmore, Dunoon
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Changeover handled very efficiently SSE arranged it for 20 June and it was delivered and installed by Open Reach on that day. Very impressed with the service and am certainly recommending SSE broadband to my friends. Has reduced my broadband/phone bills by two thirds.
    Very happy customer. Thank you SSE
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have just come to the end of an 18 month contract with SSE which was at the unbelievable price of £21 per month for 76mb fibre broadband incl phone line & all anytime landline calls including selected international.

    Took a look at their latest deals and those of competitors before giving them a call to see if they could offer me another good package.

    Got put through within a couple of minutes to a really helpful person. I realise that the first deal I had with them was exceptionally good and did not expect them to come anywhere near it again. The nearest comparable deal with another big provider would have come to over £40 as would SSE's advertised deals.

    I was able to sign up to exactly the same service again with SSE for £36 per month on a new 18 month contract. I am more than happy to pay this. The service has always been excellent since the day they took over my line & service from Talk Talk.

    So, for me it is 5 stars all round for SSE. The service is great, I have never had a fault. They do slow the speed down in the evening, but even so I can watch on demand and do huge uploads that I regularly do in the evenings for work without any problem whatsoever. They were quick and easy to deal with on the one and only occasion I have had to call them, which was to renew. Hope everything stays the same when they merge with N Power which is on the horizon.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    KINGS LYNN
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Very pleased with the Internet. Coutinuesly good connection and speed. Would recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    10/10
    I left Plusnet three months into an eighteen month contract, it was that bad they let me leave completely penalty free!
    Was very dubious but signed up with SSE anyway, purley as it was on a rolling one month contract anyway.
    Great decision!
    Started off with the same issue I had with plusnet for three months, constantly dropping connection.
    One call to SSE and it was completely fixed in 48 hours.
    I spent hours and hours on the phone to plusnet, at least 15 calls, minimum of 10 live Web chats, and a huge in depth plusnet forum discussion and they couldn't resolve it.
    Also even though their guaranteed minimum download speed was 8Meg lower than what everyone else quoted I'm actually getting an extra 6Meg download than I was with plusnet and talktalk before.
    Very happy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Moved from BT Infinity to SSE BB and Phone package at half the cost. Everything has gone great from the outset. Connected today and very easy to set up. Lot quicker than BT Early days but very happy so far.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    peterborough
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I'll be honest, it was a leap of blind faith switching to SSE given the hate seen online but I'm very glad I did.

    D/L ~50MBps pretty constant 24/7, certainly no buffering horror stories that I've seen elsewhere, U/L ~13MBps, decent.

    £30 a month cheaper than my Virgin service with comparable upload speed, no frills, no unnecessary bells or whistles (don't think I even got an email but that's not a problem), just a good solid consistent internet service.

    All set up within a few weeks (inc. engineer visit) of ordering, customer helpline answered promptly and always helpful when needed, really had 0 issues.

    Props to SSE, recommended.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northampton
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I was paying £52.49/month with BT for Anytime Calls and basic ADSL Broadband (5Mbps). Seamless change to SSE and I now pay £31/month for Anytime Calls and fibre Broadband (getting 31Mbps). No set-up charge, prices guaranteed for 3 years and no contract period - brilliant! Saving at least £773 over the 3 years. Plus very helpful call centre staff.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    So far a brilliant find and excellent surprise. I was with Virgin, paying for 200Mbps I didn't actually need. Problem was I didn't have a physical phone line at all so moving to another ISP was rather costly. Comes SSE, they said setup fee was £30. I explained I didn't have a line and they said they would send an Open Reach engineer. At not extra cost. BT usually charge about £140 for that, and SSE do it for nothing, with a 1 month rolling contract. Seriously? I thought it was too good to be true. Well, the engineer came the day I was told he would, set up the whole thing within 3 hours, then I plugged the router and within 5 minutes all lights were green and everything was working. I signed up for the Unlimited Fibre (38Mbps down, up to 10Mbps up). I've been doing speed tests regularly to see how it behaves and I'm consistently getting between 36 and 38Mbps down, and 9 to 10Mbps up.
    So, I'm saving a fortune, I'm not tied to a 12 or 18 month contract, everything went super smoothly, the router is decent and service is as promised. Well impressed!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Waslall
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Excellent Service, No problems, Fast Broadband. Changed Broadband and Telephone from Sky Kept sky TV package now saving £35 a month with faster broadband. A +++++++++++
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have had SSE broadband for almost 17 months now and its been the best we have had, good speed, reliable and excellent customer service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    10/10 - first class ISP - everything works fine since start date - using Unlimited Fibre plan, speed test shows 27ms ping, 36.16Mb/s download speed and 9.16 upload speed with 4 devices connected on local home network. Router is VERY GOOD with AC wifi standard, USB disk & printer sharing and many other useful functions.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tiverton
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Every thing as they said, all on time,
    service excellent, support 1st class
    could not have wished for better. I had tried the post office before and nearly had a nervous breakdown do not go near the post office. Get SSE and save your sanity.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Colnbrook
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Just got my broadband from SSE! Very satisfied with customer service and punctuality! I don’t need more. Speed is not the issue as it flows on the same cables. I did left sky for terrible customer service!
    Thank you SSE!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Saltfleetby, Louth
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I am coming to the end of my first contract with SSE Broadband and feel it would be fair of me to review their service. The changeover around April 2015 (from BT) went relatively smoothly with the phone going over first and about two weeks later the broadband went across. There was a day's hiccup following this (I believe an exchange fault)but since then the service has been excellent and I have had no cause to complain. I am hoping to negotiate a good deal with SSE (after looking at alternatives on-line I am in doubt as to where I would go)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Merseyside
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I’ve been with SSE 38mb Fibre for almost a year. I was on an older plan with a contract which was more expensive but they changed me to a cheaper plan with no long term contract delivering exactly the same service, Broadband has been excellent, no outages that I can recall and very consistent up and down speed near to 38/10mb, router is fine and does the job. CS have been good when I’ve called. All in all it’s good value.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hincklye
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    A faultless move with everything done when expected or sooner with Broadband change over occurring seamlessly. Moved from TalkTalk and the improvement in every area is clear. Better service, better connection, better, more friendly and informative customer service. I am delighted and a lower charge as well!! I would recommend SSE Broadband without reservation!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Had to take advantage of the free SSE super fast broadband. Switched from BT Infinity.
    Router arrived about 10 days before connection day.
    Connection day today and followed simple set up guide.
    Router connected fine to all devices in the house.
    I have a problem with Sky Q On Demand services but I had the very same problem with BT so the problem probably lies with the Sky Q set up.
    Download speeds averaging around 24
    Upload speeds averaging around 11

    The above are about 30% better than what I had previously been getting with BT.

    Overall - so far, so good.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    After reading many of the reviews of SSE Broadband, one could be easily mistaken for thinking SSE broadband is a pile of s__t. What nobody ever seems to realise is the quality of your ‘fibre’ broadband is going to be wholly dependent on the quality of the copper line from the node, to your premises. Seemingly a lot of people whinging on this website, simply have a crap copper line, or are miles from the fibre node, and therefore, will have issues with their VDSL regardless of the provider.

    I took the leap to SSE broadband a few days ago, the reason namely due to the fact I already was with SSE for electricity and didn’t want to sign up to an 18 month contract with another provider for fibre. I have had TalkTalk and Sky on the same physical line, with absolutely no issues.
    The result?

    Three days of a solid connection of 10 mbit up, and 40 mbit down. Uploaded 40GB to Google Cloud in a day without issue, speed tests using fastest.sh (on Linux) have been consistent:

    2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 12:03, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 12:06, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 15:35, None, 37.1, None
    2018-10-19, 15:55, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 16:55, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 17:55, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 18:55, None, 37.2, None
    2018-10-19, 19:55, None, 37.4, None

    What can you ask for really? YMMV. If you have a poor quality copper line to your house, you're going to have poor internet regardless of the provider - blame Openreach.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Drumnadrochit
    Reviewing
    SSE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    We had limited choice of broadband provider as we're renting temporarily and didn't want to be tied into a yearly contract. SSE offer a monthly contract so despite a lot of bad reviews we went ahead and we were impressed right from the start. Customer service has a call back service so we don't have to hold on forever (and they really do call back!) and the advisers are friendly and helpful. We were connected earlier than expected which was great and we've been using it for over a month now with no problems. When we move to our permanent home, we're considering SSE for a longer term contract. Highly recommended!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.